Vatican city

The precise location of the country, compared to other European countries, you can find at the following link.

Total area: 0.44 sq. km./108 7 acres;

Population: Around 800 people, with only half of them having Vatican citizenship, while others have a permanent residence permit, without being able to use the benefits of citizenship;

Currency: Euro /since 2002/, although the Vatican is not a member of the European Union.

Schengen area: The Vatican can be considered as a member of Schengen area, as there is no control on borders with Schengen countries that surround it;

Government type: Absolute theocratic monarchy, chaired by the Pope;

Official holidays in the Vatican:

October 16th – National Day /on this day in 1978 Cardinal Karol Wojtyla, a Pole by origin, was elected as the 264-th Pope. He took the name John Paul II.

Description: St Peter’s Basilica;

The smallest independent state in the world was established on 11 February 1929 after the signing of the Lateran Treaty between Pope Pius XII and Benito Mussolini. These contracts define the status of the Church of Rome. Although Mussolini established a dictatorship, he needed good relations with the Roman Catholic Church. The Lateran Treaty actually consist of three acts: a political act (turning the Vatican into a separate state), Finance Convention (providing reparations to the Vatican) and Concord (providing certain privileges of the church within Italy). In return to all this Mussolini received recognition of the Kingdom of Italy. The Church, as a result of the unification of Italy, lost possession over lands, which were owned by it until this current moment. In return the church received 30 millions and 109 acres of land, on which the Vatican was founded. Through a Concordate the Catholic religion was declared as official religion. The church also received control over marriage and education.



Description: the Vatican museums;

The Vatican is the heart of the Catholic world. This religious center offers exclusive architecture. St. Peter’s Basilica is the main attraction center for pilgrims, but not only. With a capacity of 60 000 people, you can spare inside several hours, enjoying the details on the ceiling, chapel, altar, the huge bronze canopy and of course the famous Pieta by Michelangelo.

More than half of the territory of the Vatican, nearly 57 acres, is occupied by the Vatican gardens. The Pope can often be seen walking there. Part of the garden is opened for organized tours that are paid.

Description: the Vatican gardens;

Art lovers can not miss the Vatican Museums. They kept breathtaking collections. Some associate them only with the Sistine Chapel, showing Judgement on an area of ​​1000 square meters, where Michelangelo has worked for four years. Another mandatory stop are the so called “Rooms of Raphael”. These four rooms are part of apartments of Pope Julius II. The Egyptian collection is another interesting part of the museums. It occupies nine rooms and was founded by Pope Gregory XVI in 1839. It contains a large number of papyruses, mummies, statues of Syria, Mesopotamia, Palestine and others.

The Egyptian element can be seen at other iconic for the Vatican place- St. Peter’s Square. The Egyptian obelisk in the center was brought from Egypt during the reign of Caligula in 39 BC. This is the place, where St. Peter was killed.

In conclusion we can say that for those of you who are attracted to religion, history, art and architecture, the small world of the Vatican is the perfect place for you.